Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

South Dakota Library Association (SDLA) Annual Awards

Awards to South Dakota Librarians and Individuals
for Contributions to the Library Community

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

South Dakota Library Association (SDLA)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to South Dakota librarians, library support staff, and other individuals to recognize outstanding contributions to libraries within the state. Individuals are encouraged to submit nominations on behalf of those who have made a positive impact on the South Dakota library community.

Nominations are currently accepted for the following award categories:

Librarian of the Year

The Librarian of the Year award recognizes a member of the SD Library Association who has made an outstanding contribution to affect and improve library service in a SD community. The winner must have been active in the library profession in SD for no less than 10 years and have:

-Shown evidence of personal professional achievement, as well as initiative and creativity
-Contributed to and participated in the library profession and related fields
-Focused attention on the status of the librarian in the community
-Promoted cooperation between types of libraries and their librarians
-Actively participated in local affairs
-Currently involved in librarianship
-Must be a current member of SDLA

New Librarian of the Year

The New Librarian of the Year recognizes all of those hard-working librarians who are just getting started in the profession. The New Librarian of the Year is someone who:

-Transformed a routine task or an untried idea into imaginative, creative service
-Projected a dynamic image of the professional librarian into the community and offered that community something which it did not have before
-Have five years or less of service within the state or elsewhere
-Must be a current member of SDLA

Support Staff of the Year

Instituted in 2000, the Support Staff of the Year award recognizes support staff who are making a contribution to advance and strengthen support staff in the library community.

The recipient will:
-Demonstrate excellence in performance in his/her field
-Be active in organizations supporting library issues
-Advance and strengthen the image of library staff
-Aemonstrate direct involvement or be focused on Support Staff working in libraries or information centers
-Be judged according to the degree by which the status and work of support staff is improved or enhanced within the library profession

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award honors a current SDLA member who has made notable contributions to the library profession or has significantly furthered development of libraries in SD, or has performed exemplary service for an extended period of time. The award was given occasionally by proclamation of the SDLA Executive Board through 1993, when it became a permanent annual award.

Trustee of the Year

This honor is presented each year to a trustee of a public library who has contributed by leadership, work, ideas, community relations or other ways to a significant betterment of library services in that community. The trustee should have given service to the library beyond attendance at board meetings and should be an active patron of his/her library.

Friend of the Library

This award is designed to recognize a non-librarian who has made a significant contribution to library development in a South Dakota community. The Friend is someone who has shown initiative, support, and creativity on behalf of a South Dakota library to the betterment of the library and its services.

Intellectual Freedom Award

Instituted in 2002, the Intellectual Freedom Award was created to recognize an SDLA member or South Dakota resident or group that has exhibited strong support for Intellectual Freedom in the State of SD and has made significant contributions to the enhancement of First Amendment rights.

The recipient will:
-Be active in supporting Intellectual Freedom in their library, community, or statewide
-Be active in informing SDLA and the State Library of Intellectual Freedom issues
-Be an advocate in keeping challenged materials on library shelves
-Be helpful and supportive to those facing challenges of materials
-Demonstrate involvement in Intellectual Freedom issues

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 173547

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligibility criteria varies by award category.

Nominees in the following categories must have SD Library Association membership: Librarian of the Year, New Librarian of the Year, Distinguished Service Award, and the Intellectual Freedom Award.

More information regarding membership may be found here:

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for 2017 nominations is July 26, 2017.

The SDLA Annual Awards are presented each year at a conference.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Librarian of the Year Nomination Form:

New Librarian of the Year Nomination Form:

Support Staff of the Year Nomination Form:

Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form:

Trustee of the Year Nomination Form:

Friend of the Library Award Nomination Form:

Intellectual Freedom Award Nomination Form:

Lynn M. Klundt, Committee Chair
1207 S. Main St
Aberdeen, SD 57401

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: South Dakota