Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

SpartanNash Foundation Grant

Grants to USA Nonprofits in Eligible States for
Hunger Relief, Shelter, and Military Veteran Support

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

SpartanNash Foundation

Deadline Date:

09/26/18 5:00 PM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA nonprofit organizations in multiple states for programs providing shelter, hunger relief, and support for the nation's military heroes. Funding is intended to assist those communities which the Foundation serves, found in the following states: Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174057

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible to receive a grant from the SpartanNash Foundation, the organization must be a qualified 501(c)(3) nonprofit operating in the communities the Foundation serves. The most common type of U.S. tax-exempt nonprofit organization falls under category 501(c)(3), whereby a nonprofit organization is exempt from federal income tax if its activities have the following purposes: charitable, religious, educational, scientific, literary, testing for public safety, fostering amateur sports competition or preventing cruelty to children or animals.

The SpartanNash Foundation supports organizations located within a 30-mile radius of their 145 retail stores, 19 wholesale and military distribution centers and service centers located in Grand Rapids, Mich.; Minneapolis; and Norfolk, Va. The Foundation will only consider applications from organizations providing services in these regions.

To determine geographic eligibility:

The SpartanNash Foundation does not make grants to:

- Organizations that are not 501(c)(3) charitable nonprofits
- Organizations outside a 30-mile radius of the Foundation's retail stores, distribution centers and service centers
- Organizations that do not align with the Foundation's missions of hunger, shelter or patriotism
- Organizations that have previously received a donation from the SpartanNash Foundation in the same calendar year
- Individuals, endowments and elected officials
- National ceremonies, memorials, conferences, fundraising dinners, testimonials or other similar events
- Organizations that do not comply with the Foundation's non-discrimination policy

Pre-Application Information:

- Deadline for Applications: Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2018
- Board Meeting: Oct. 31, 2018

Grant requests are reviewed by the Foundation Board of Trustees on a quarterly basis. Grant applications must be submitted in one file attachment and sent to the Foundation via email.

Grant applications can be submitted once annually and must be received in full by 5 p.m. ET on the day of the submission deadline in order to be considered for that quarter’s Foundation board meeting. Grants are reviewed by the Foundation’s Grant Review Advisory Committee prior to the Foundation’s board meetings.

The full application review process takes approximately eight weeks from the grant application due date. All organizations will be informed of their status once a decision has been made by the Foundation Board of Trustees. Grant applicants will be notified of their status within two weeks of the board meeting.

If you have technical difficulties in emailing your application due to file size, etc., please send an inquiry to the Foundation email for alternate options.


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Completed applications should be emailed to:

Kathleen M. Mahoney
President, MDV and Chief Legal Officer

SpartanNash Company
850 76th St SW
Byron Center, MI 49315

Phone: (616) 878-2000

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Florida;   Georgia;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Maryland;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Nebraska;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   South Dakota;   Texas;   Virginia;   Wisconsin