Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Margaret Mann Citation

Award to a USA or Canadian Librarian for Extraordinary
Achievements in the Fields of Cataloging or Classification

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Library Association (ALA) - Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA or Canadian librarian to acknowledge extraordinary accomplishments in their profession. These achievements should take place within the fields of classification or cataloging. In addition to the commendation, a $2,000 scholarship is donated to the U.S. or Canadian library school of the winner's choice.

Achievements to be considered include:

- Notable publications, such as an article, pamphlet, or book.

- Outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations.

- Outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance.

- Outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.

Except in unusual circumstances, the achievement shall have culminated within the last five years.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174846

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

A donation of $2,000 scholarship will be made to the U.S. or Canadian library school of the winner's choice.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Librarians may be nominated.

Nationality and professional association membership are not among the criteria. Current employees of OCLC are not eligible for the award.

Pre-Application Information:

The nomination shall include the formal statement of nomination with some rationale and a resume or narrative summary of the nominee's career and achievements. Nominations of those nominated in a given year but who are not selected for the citation that year will be forwarded to the following year's committee for automatic reconsideration. Further consideration beyond this requires renomination.

For nomination information, contact Gina Solares.

The award is presented during the American Library Association Annual Conference each year at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony and Membership Meeting.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Gina Solares, Chair of the Margaret Mann Citation Jury

American Library Association
50 E Huron St.
Chicago IL 60611

Phone: 1-800-545-2433

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon