Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Grants to Canada Teams in Multiple Provinces to Address Community Needs

Arctic Inspiration Prize (AIP) - $1 Million Prize Category


Agency
Foundation

GrantWatch ID#
174884

Funding Source
Arctic Inspiration Prize (AIP)
Array ( )

Geographic Focus
Canada: Newfoundland and Labrador;   Northwest Territories;   Nunavut;   Quebec;   Yukon;

Important Dates
LOI Date: 11/21/23
Deadline: 02/05/24 11:59 PM PT Save

Grant Description
Grants to Canada teams in multiple provinces to address community needs in eligible regions. Focus areas include but are not limited to education, the economy, arts and language, health, science and traditional knowledge, culture, and climate change. Nominated teams should aim to have a long-term impact across a large geographic area or a profound impact in a smaller area. Proposed projects should be carried out and have an impact within the following regions: Yukon, the Northwest Territories, the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, Nunavut, Nunavik, and Nunatsiavut.

The $1 Million Arctic Inspiration Prize category is intended for diverse teams who have provided a truly exceptional and innovative plan to implement knowledge (traditional, scientific research, or practical) into relevant and real action for the benefit of the people and communities of the Canadian North.

The Arctic Inspiration Prize transforms knowledge into innovative action with direct and lasting impacts in northern communities.

  • Knowledge can be traditional knowledge, scientific research, and/or practical knowledge.
  • Outcomes are secular, non-ideological and have a direct and lasting impact in northern communities. (Note that this does not exclude projects that involve Indigenous ceremony, healing, traditional practice, etc.)
  • Actions are innovative and are not simply a continuation, expansion, or repetition of an established project/program in a new location. Actions are not to be one-time events (such as a conference). If building on an existing initiative, the proposed project should bring substantial new team members, partners, objectives and deliverables.

In order to be included in the Arctic Inspiration Prize selection process, nominations are required to fulfill all of the Eligibility Criteria listed below:

  • Team Diversity: The Arctic Inspiration Prize aims to inspire team building and empower Northerners to address challenges and opportunities relevant to their communities.
  • Novelty: The Arctic Inspiration Prize has a focus on innovation and turning knowledge into action.
  • Impact: The Arctic Inspiration Prize enables real, relevant, and direct impacts in communities across the North.
  • Sustainability: The Arctic Inspiration Prize is about having impact with the support and engagement of partners and team members.

For more information about eligibility criteria, see https://arcticinspstg.wpengine.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/2023-Nomination-Guide-1M_WEB-New-Date.pdf#page=5



Recipient

Additional Eligibility Criteria
1. The Arctic Inspiration Prize is an award for diverse teams. Since the Arctic Inspiration Prize is about teambuilding, nominated teams should be broadly diverse (i.e. include Northerners and Southerners; youth and elders; people from communities, grassroots groups, industry and governments; and/or people from the research, philanthropy, culture, and education communities, etc.). Teams that are not diverse are not eligible.
2. The Team Leader and the majority of the team are required to be Northerners as the Arctic Inspiration Prize is about inspiring Northerners to build, lead and manage their own solutions. A Northerner is defined as:
- An Indigenous person of the North preferably working and residing in the regions eligible for the AIP; or
- A non-Indigenous person working and residing in the regions eligible for the AIP.
3. Individuals or organizations that are nominated for the AIP (the nominee) and would receive the AIP prize funds are required to be exclusively northern. Non-exclusively northern organizations/individuals, even with a project in the North, are not eligible. Note that this does not mean that southern individuals or organizations cannot be part of the project team or provide support, they just cannot be the nominee or the recipient of the prize funds.

All ages can apply.

Additional Geographic Information:

Eligible region of the Arctic Inspiration Prize - specifically, Yukon, the Northwest Territories, the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, Nunavut, Nunavik, and Nunatsiavut.

Ineligible
Individuals alone cannot be nominated.

Nominations for the continuation, expansion, or replication in another location of an already established initiative are not eligible.

Proposed projects should bring knowledge to action with lasting impacts. Therefore, projects that only collect and store knowledge are not eligible.

Single, short-term activities such as conferences, workshops and meetings are not eligible unless clearly embedded in a broader action plan.

Projects nominated by team members, individuals from connected organizations or groups, or individuals who are in any way connected to the activities, outputs, funding or management/administration of the project will not be eligible.

Arctic Inspiration Prize Trustees, staff, and Selection Committee members and Rideau Hall Foundation staff and Board members are not eligible to be nominees or nominators for the Arctic Inspiration Prize during their terms, and for six months following the end of their terms.

Pre-Proposal Conference
Webinars focused on the $1 Million prize category nomination template:

- Tuesday, January 9
11:00am YT/MT | 12:00pm CT | 1:00pm ET | 2:00pm AT | 2:30pm NT
Registration link: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0qfuiuqjsiEtO_hbkwhUD4dJFtQygCGZwC

Monday, January 15
12:30pm YT/MT | 1:30pm CT | 2:30pm ET | 3:30pm AT | 4:00pm NT
Registration link:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAsde6sqzMpE9zZB35XKvLUyLtnqcV0Z_Vt

Q&A sessions

- Wednesday, January 24
1:00pm YT/MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET | 4:00pm AT | 4:30pm NT
Registration link: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUtcuCrrTkpH9xixuxf0kUw2e_MSbm-0PYC

- Wednesday, January 31
12:00pm YT/MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET | 3:00pm AT | 3:30pm NT
Registration link:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMocOGurDsuEtJd8_tIINDymtBqsUHgygZh

Pre-Application Information
Deadlines:
- Letter of Intent (Optional): November 21, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. PT
- Nomination Package: February 5, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. PT

If you have any questions about the eligibility of your team and/or project, you can submit a Letter of Intent to receive feedback.

You are encouraged to submit Letters of Intent as early as possible. The last day you can submit a letter for the 2023 Arctic Inspiration Prize is November 21, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. PT.

Proposed projects require buy-in from partners and are encouraged to have buy-in from team members.

Nominators are required to be official Ambassadors/Nominators of the Arctic Inspiration Prize (see list here: https:// arcticinspirationprize.ca/ambassadors/)

Eligibility: https://arcticinspstg.wpengine.com/nomination-selection/eligibility/

Watch the $1 Million Nomination Template Overview here: https://vimeo.com/905754843?share=copy

Additional Funding Information

Estimated Total Program Funding:

$1,000,000

Number of Grants
Up to 1

Estimated Size of Grant
$1 million CAD (no more, no less)

Contact Information
An electronic copy of the complete nomination should be submitted to the Arctic Inspiration Prize office at aip@rhf-frh.ca.

Letters should be submitted to the Arctic Inspiration Prize office to the email address above.

Region Managers:
Jessica Winters
Nunatsiavut Region Manager
Nunatsiavut.RM@ArcticInspirationPrize.ca

Jessie Stephen and Stephanie Penikett
Yukon Region Managers
Yukon.RM@ArcticInspirationPrize.ca

Darlene Nuqingaq
Nunavut Region Manager
1-867-222-0220
Nunavut.RM@ArcticInspirationPrize.ca

Arctic Inspiration Prize
9 Rideau Gate
Ottawa, ON K1M 1M6
613-277-4074

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now