Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

WSST Awards

Awards to Wisconsin Educators, Individuals, Corporations,
and Foundations for Contributions to Science Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Wisconsin Society of Science Teachers (WSST)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to Wisconsin science teachers, administrators, individuals, groups, corporations, and foundations to recognize outstanding contributions to science education within the state. Nominations are invited on behalf of educators and others who foster and support excellence within the field. Awards will be made in the following categories:

Excellence in Science Teaching:
The purpose of this award is to foster excellence in science instruction and to recognize that excellence. The award is given annually to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the improvement of science education in Wisconsin. This would include elementary, secondary or college teachers, and any other active supporters of science education.

Friends of Science Education:
The intent of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions to the support of science teachers by individuals, groups. corporations, foundations, etc., outside the science education community.

Frank Zuerner New Science Teacher:
This scholarship goes to a first, second or third year elementary, middle or high school science teacher who has been recommended as outstanding by at least one other science teacher who has direct knowledge of the applicant. An administrator, with credible knowledge of the nominee could also make a recommendation. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage a new-to-the-profession science teacher who demonstrates potential for teaching and leadership to become involved in and network with others in WSST. The teacher must be a first, second or third year certified science teacher with the majority of their assignment in that position and must be recognized as having extraordinary potential for working with and serving students, currently teaching science at the elementary, middle or high school level, able to attend the WSST Annual Conference for which this grant is provided, and attend the two full day sessions and the Milton O. Pella banquet.

Administrator Award:
The WSST Administrator Award was designed to acknowledge the superior K-12 Principals, Vice Principals, Curriculum directors and District Superintendents who promote, showcase and support science education. Nominators should choose a candidate that understands the unique nature of science education, and goes above and beyond the call of duty to offer teachers of science the creativity, time, and resources to develop a dynamic science classroom. They should be strongly involved in the development of curriculum, in supporting and engaging in teacher instruction, and an advocate for professional development and engagement.

Ron Gibbs:
The Ron Gibbs will not be awarded in 2018.

The Rumford Memorial Award is restricted to science teachers who have been a member of WSST for at least 10 years.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177713

Estimated Size of Grant:

Excellence in Science Teaching: The award consists of a plaque to be presented at the WSST spring conference and a one-year membership in WSST, and dinner for themselves at the banquet.

Friends of Science Education: The award is a plaque to be presented at the WSST spring conference.

Frank Zuerner New Science Teacher: The awardee will receive registration for the Spring Conference, one day substitute teacher pay, one night at the conference hotel, the Pella Banquet, and one year's membership in WSST.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Nominations may be submitted on behalf of elementary, secondary, or college teachers, K-12 administrators, other active supporters of science education, groups, corporations, and foundations.

Eligibility varies according to award category.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for nominations is the 3rd Friday in December.

There will not be a Ron Gibbs Award given in 2017-18. Nominees for the Ron Gibbs Award will be taken, but will not be considered until the 2018-19 awards cycle.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nomination Form:

Eric Brunsell, Chief Operations Officer
Kevin Niemi, Chief Financial Officer

Wisconsin Society of Science Teachers
192 Depot Road
Cambridge WI 53523

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Wisconsin