GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

William Randolph Hearst Endowed Fellowship for Minority Students

Fellowship to a USA Undergraduate or Graduate
Student of Color to Work in the Nonprofit Sector

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Aspen Institute Program on Philanthropy and Social Innovation (PSI)

Deadline Date:

11/15/19 - For Spring 2020 Fellowship


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowship to a USA undergraduate or graduate student from an underrepresented community of color seeking to gain experience in the philanthropy, nonprofit, and social enterprise sector. The fellow will work part-time at the Funding Source’s Washington, DC office and participate in the Philanthropy and Social Innovation (PSI) program. In his or her internship, the Hearst Fellow undertakes research, writing, logistical, and administrative support for PSI’s leadership initiatives, public programs, and convenings.

Through this fellowship, PSI seeks to introduce a diverse group of students to issues and challenges affecting philanthropy, social enterprise, nonprofit organizations, and other actors in the social sector. Recipients may arrange with their colleges or universities to receive academic credit for this experience.

The Aspen Institute Program on Philanthropy and Social Innovation seeks to inform and maximize the impact of grantmaking foundations, nonprofit organizations, social enterprises, and public-private partnerships through leadership development initiatives, convenings, and communications so that each can contribute to the good society at home and abroad.

This is not a scholarship. The student must be able to work as an intern for 12-15 weeks in the Washington, DC office of the Aspen Institute during the academic semester in which the fellowship is awarded. Fall and Spring interns will work part-time (15-20 hours per week) and Summer interns will be full-time. All travel and housing costs must be covered by the student.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 180296

Number of Grants:

The Institute offers the Fellowship to one student three times annually.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Fellows will be compensated on an hourly basis.

Term of Contract:

Fellowship availability: Spring 2020 (January - April/May)

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Candidates for this fellowship are highly motivated graduate or undergraduate students from underrepresented communities of color. Candidates must be enrolled at an institution of higher education for the semester which they will be applying. Summer candidates must show proof of enrollment for the upcoming fall semester. Each candidate should have an excellent academic record and have the following:
-Demonstrated interest or experience in nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and the social sector;
-Excellent research and writing skills;
-Demonstrated financial need; and
-U.S. citizenship or U.S. permanent residency. Students approved for participation in the federal Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program are eligible to apply.

Pre-Application Information:

The application deadline for Spring 2020 Fellowship is November 15, 2019. Award notification will be in December 2019.

To apply, you will need to submit a current resume, cover letter, unofficial transcript, writing sample, and letter of recommendation. The letter of recommendation from a professor or supervisor can be included with your application.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Start an application:

Charles M. Firestone, Executive Director
The Aspen Institute
2300 N St. NW
Suite 700
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 736-5800 (tel)
(202) 467-0790 (fax)

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming