Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Awards for Excellence in Teaching at the Precollegiate Level

Awards to USA and Canada K-12 Teachers for
Exceptional Instruction in Latin, Greek, or Classics

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Society for Classical Studies (SCS)

Deadline Date:

10/02/18 Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA and Canada K-12 teachers to recognize outstanding classroom instruction of Greek, Latin, or classics. Nominations are invited on behalf of individuals demonstrating excellent teaching practices. Applications should address at least four of the following criteria:

-Success, size, and growth of the classics program in the candidate's school
-Outreach and promotion of the classics
-Innovative and creative classroom activity
-Evidence of improved student learning
-Student success in contests and competitions
-Movement of significant numbers of students to the next level of study
-Student travel and field trips ranging from study of local architecture to study abroad
-The teacher's professional service and professional development including workshops (both taken and given), papers presented, offices held, awards received, etc.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181424

Number of Grants:

Up to two winners will be chosen.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Winners will receive a certificate of award and a cash prize of $500. In addition, each winner’s institution will receive $200 to purchase educational resources selected by the winner.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Teachers, full or part-time, of grades K-12 in schools in the United States and Canada who at the time of the application teach at least one class of Latin, Greek, or classics at the K-12 level are eligible. Membership in the SCS is not required.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominations may be made by a colleague, administrator, or former student, who is thoroughly familiar with the teacher's work.

The components are 1) a letter of nomination; the letter may come from someone within the educational institution of the nominee; 2) a letter of support; and 3) the candidate's current curriculum vitae. One of the two letters must be written by someone in the field of Classical Studies. Nomination letters should indicate how the candidate meets the criteria of the award. The letter is the key to the candidate's continuation in the selection process.

The key to a successful nomination is detailed information about the nominee's teaching practices and results. The nominator plays a crucial role in gathering and presenting this information. The additional letters of support should be from students, colleagues, administrators, parents, etc. who can also speak in detail about the nominee. Due to the fact that all of the nominees are usually highly qualified, letters of nomination must move far beyond general statements that the nominee is an excellent teacher.

October 2, 2018, is the deadline for the receipt of nominations.

Finalists in the competition will be invited to submit additional supporting materials such as innovative teaching units, Latin publicity items, additional testimonials and recommendations, etc.

The winners will be honored at both the SCS Annual Meeting in San Diego in January 2019 and the ACL Institute in June 2019, and they may select the meeting at which they wish to receive the award.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Executive Director

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon