Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

The Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual for
Significant Contributions to the Earth Sciences

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Northwestern University

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International individual who has made significant contributions to new paradigms of the Earth Sciences. The recipient of the award will deliver a public lecture and participate in other scholarly activities for ten weeks during the upcoming academic year at Northwestern University. These events will be arranged by the Earth and planetary sciences department.

The prestigious prize recognizes individuals whose work is of lasting significance in the Earth Sciences. Nominations are open to individuals who have made major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis and whose work is of lasting significance.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182435

Estimated Size of Grant:

The prize includes a cash award of $200,000.

Term of Contract:

The award recipient will deliver a public lecture and participate in other scholarly activities at Northwestern University for 10 weeks during the 2018-2019 academic year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Candidacy for the Nemmers Prizes is open to those with careers of outstanding achievement in the field of earth sciences as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis.

Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations are eligible, except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Pre-Application Information:

For the 2018 award, the nomination deadline is December 1, 2017.

Required Materials:
- A letter of no more than three pages describing the nominee's professional experience, accomplishments, and qualifications for the prize
- A brief curriculum vitae of the nominee
- Nominations from experts in the field are preferred to institutional nominations; direct applications will not be accepted.

The selection process will be overseen by the Office of the Provost in partnership with the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences. The first Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences will be awarded in 2018.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit nominations by email to:


by postal mail to:
Selection Committee for the Nemmers Prizes
Office of the Provost
Northwestern University
633 Clark Street
Evanston, Illinois 60208-1119

Jonathan Holloway,
Provost Northwestern University

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.