Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

RPB International Research Collaborators Award

Grant to a USA Ophthalmology Researcher
for International Research Collaboration

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Research to Prevent Blindness (RPB)

Deadline Date:

06/15/19 - Deadline for nominations; Applications accepted through 07/01/19.


Request a Grant Writer

Grant of up to $75,000 to a USA based researcher in ophthalmology or another relevant department for an international collaboration in vision research. The purpose of this collaboration is to broaden the knowledge and skill base of the researchers and to develop treatments for blinding disorders, positively affecting large populations worldwide for years to come. While a degree of flexibility is permitted in the development and implementation of the collaboration, excellent science must underlie all aspects of the application. This award particularly encourages early-career investigators to apply.

Under a reciprocal arrangement, a U.S.-based researcher - MD, PhD, or MD/PhD with a primary appointment in the department of ophthalmology or a relevant department as an Assistant Professor through full Professor - will be funded to go for a period of time to an institution outside the United States to gain new knowledge and/or skills, and deepen collaborative relationships with researchers there that will be conducive to future research collaborations. In turn, the institution outside the U.S. will send a researcher for a period of time to the U.S. institution from which the U.S. researcher came.

The collaboration should provide a synergistic benefit to each researcher and to the culminating project. The submission must spell out specific and cogent objectives to be accomplished by each of the collaborating researchers toward the fulfillment of two broad goals: (1) gaining new knowledge and skills; and (2) strengthening collaborations across international boundaries. Successful candidates will leverage the unique expertise of each researcher, whereby their collaboration creates a work product that is more than the sum of its parts.

The award can be used for travel, lodging, salary for postdoctoral researchers, salary for outside-U.S. collaborators, lab equipment, and consumables.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 183383

Estimated Size of Grant:

An award of up to $75,000 is available.

Term of Contract:

A three- to six-month stay in the other country is expected by each researcher, with a minimum stay of three months. A fair amount of flexibility in how this is implemented will be allowed during this three-year pilot period of this Award, including an exchange of postdocs (perhaps accompanied by much briefer exchanges of senior investigators), Assistant Professor, and/or senior investigators between labs.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

This award is available to researchers from any U.S. academic medical center. Only one nomination per department per school will be considered in this grant category.

Full-time department Chairs may nominate an MD, PhD, or MD/PhD with a primary appointment in either the ophthalmology department or in another relevant department (Assistant Professor through full Professor), at any U.S. academic medical center. Interim or acting Chairs cannot nominate a candidate for this award.

Candidates must be full-time faculty in their primary appointment department by the application deadline. Any previous individual RPB grants to the candidate must be fully spent and recognized as terminated by RPB before an individual researcher may apply for another RPB grant. All RPB grants must remain free of institutional overhead and are non-transferable to other individuals or other institutions. Should the awardee leave his/her primary appointment department or the outside U.S. collaborator leave their home institution during the collaboration, the department must return any unspent funds.

Salaries for U.S.-based primary researchers will not be paid by this award.

Pre-Application Information:

The fall cycle application deadline is July 1, with nomination forms due no later than June 15. For the January 10 application deadline, nomination forms are due no later than December 15. Applications received without a prior nomination form will not be accepted. (If deadline falls on a weekend, consider the following business day the deadline.)

Matching funds are not required; however, a match is encouraged by the department and/or the institution outside the U.S.

Complete the nomination form (in Word) and email to Pattie Moran.

Application: RPB will accept applications and most supporting documentation via the password-protected page on RPB’s website that has been established for application submission. Please note only one (1) upload action, with application and all applicable supporting documentation, will be accepted per candidate. This upload must be received no later than 11:59 pm ET on the deadline date.

Recommendation letters are NOT required for this application.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application portal:

Nomination forms should be submitted via email to:
Pattie Moran

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming