Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

National History Teacher of the Year

Awards to USA K-12 Teachers for
Excellence in American History Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $1,000 and one award of $10,000 to USA K-12 American history teachers for excellence in educating students on this subject. One nominee from each state will receive the monetary prize, a certificate of recognition, an archive of resources to be presented in their name to the school library, an invitation to participate in a Gilder Lehrman Teacher Seminar, and recognition at a ceremony within their state. Each winner’s school will become a Gilder Lehrman Affiliate School.

All nominated teachers must meet the following criteria:
- A demonstrated commitment to teaching American history (including state and local history)
- Evidence of creativity and imagination in the classroom
- Effective use of documents, artifacts, historic sites, oral histories, and other primary sources to engage students with American history.

Consideration of these factors will be based on the grade level taught in order to accommodate the teaching requirements of both generalist and specialist teachers.

All state winners are finalists for the National History Teacher of the Year Award. The winner receives a $10,000 award and a trip to the national award ceremony; two of the winner’s students are also invited to the ceremony.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 150599

Number of Grants:

50 state winners and 1 national winner

Estimated Size of Grant:

National winner chosen from among state winners receives a $10,000 prize. State winners receive a $1,000 prize.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Any full-time educator of grades K–12 who teaches American history (including state and local history) is eligible for consideration. American history may be taught as an individual subject, as part of other subjects, such as social studies, reading, or language arts.

The 2018 award will honor exceptional elementary and secondary school teachers. Eligible generalist and specialist teachers in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and US Territories are encouraged to apply.

- The nominated teacher must have at least three years of classroom teaching experience.
- Nominees must be planning to teach for at least one year following the award year.

Past state and national winners are not eligible. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Pre-Application Information:

Deadline for 2018 nominations: March 31, 2018
Deadline for 2018 nominees to submit supporting materials: April 30, 2018

All teachers must be nominated on the Gilder Lehrman website, which accepts nominations for any K–12 teacher throughout the year. Nominations can be made by a student, parent, colleague, or principal or other administrator familiar with the teacher’s work. A teacher must be nominated by March 31 to be considered for the current year’s award. All nominees will be notified with full instructions for submitting supporting materials to complete their nominations.

All nominees will be notified of the results by the Gilder Lehrman Institute in June.

The National History Teacher of the Year is announced and honored in the fall.



Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nomination form:

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
49 West 45th Street, 6th floor
New York, NY 10036

James G. Basker, President
Phone: (646) 366-9666
Fax: (646) 366-9669
Institution Email:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)