American Music Project Grant

Grants to USA Music Organizations, Ensembles, and
Individuals for Classic American Music Performances

GrantWatch ID#: 154339
Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

American Music Project (AMP)


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA orchestras, ensembles, performing organizations, presenters, and individuals to perform classical American music. While applications may be submitted for contemporary works, preference will be given to performances that portray a sense of American music of the past.

The Foundation is especially interested in neglected and rarely performed 20th-century American composers. Also, 2018 is the centennial year of George Rochberg and several leading composers will mark their 80th birthdays including John Harbison, John Corigliano, Charles Wuorinen, Joan Tower and William Bolcom.

As a new foundation, AMP funds are limited, so the best application advice is to be ambitious in scope and imagination while being modest in funds requested.

Grants will be awarded for performances taking place from September 1, 2017 to August 31, 2018.

AMP will award grants to performing organizations, presenters, orchestras, ensembles, or individuals.

While AMP does selectively commission new works, AMP is not accepting applications from composers directly for performances of their own music.

All AMP grant applications for the 2017-18 season must be submitted by August 31, 2017.

Awards will be announced October 2.


Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Lawrence A. Johnson, Executive Director

See the full text of this grant

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Live Chat with a Grant Specialist

Our team of researchers and grant specialists review hundreds of funding resources daily to make sure provides members with the most up-to-date grants.

We have grants for:


Need help?

Hi, I would love to guide you through the site.
Please feel free to call or write.

Customer Sales & Support (561) 249-4129