Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Carter Manny Award

Awards to USA and Canada Doctoral Students for
Research and Writing on Architecture and Society

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Graham Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

An award of up to $15,000 and an award of up to $20,000 to doctoral students enrolled in graduate programs at USA and Canada schools for dissertation research and writing on architecture topics. Funding may be used to support students enrolled in art history, architecture, humanities, fine arts, and social sciences programs.

Projects may be drawn from the various fields of inquiry supported by the Graham Foundation: architectural history, theory, and criticism; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; visual arts; and other related fields.

The Graham Foundation offers two Carter Manny Awards: one for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation and one for a student at the writing stage of the doctoral dissertation.

Research award: The research award assists students with research that is essential to the doctoral project. The research award can be used for travel, documentation, materials, supplies, and other research and development costs. Applicants for a research award should have a clearly defined work plan, travel plan, and goals.

Writing award: The writing award encourages timely completion of the Ph.D. by assisting students who are in the advanced stages of the dissertation with one year of writing. While some of the award funds may be used for final research, the award is intended to support and facilitate uninterrupted writing. Applicants for a writing award will be asked to submit a writing sample from the dissertation, a dissertation table of contents, and a writing schedule.

Citations of Special Recognition: A limited number of Citations of Special Recognition may be determined in some years in recognition of outstanding projects.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 159992

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Research award: up to $15,000
Writing award: up to $20,000

Term of Contract:

The one-year award period begins between June 1 and September 1, 2020 for the 2020–21 academic year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Ph.D. students who are presently candidates for a doctoral degree are eligible to apply.

- Students must be nominated by their department to apply for the Carter Manny Award.
- A department may nominate up to two candidates: one for the research award and one for the writing award.
- At the time of application, students must have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. except the dissertation and have had their dissertation proposals formally approved by their academic departments.
- A student may reapply for the Carter Manny Award if a previous application was not successful. Due to limited funds, a student who received a research award or a writing award is not eligible to apply for another Carter Manny Award in subsequent years.
- The award is open to students officially enrolled in schools in the U.S. and Canada, regardless of citizenship.

Work being undertaken in pursuit of an academic degree is not otherwise eligible for Graham Foundation support.

Pre-Application Information:

The annual application deadline for the Carter Manny Award is November 15. Applicants are notified of funding decisions in early spring of each year.

Calendar for the 2018 Carter Manny Award:
- Application available online: September 15, 2019
- Application deadline: November 15, 2019
- Award decision notification: April 2020

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

Madlener House
4 West Burton Place
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Telephone: 312.787.4071

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon