Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Short-Term Research Fellowships

Fellowships to USA Individuals to Conduct
Scholarly Research in New York City

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

New York Public Library

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships providing a weekly stipend of $1,000 to USA individual scholars from outside the New York metro area to make use of library collections in New York City. Applications are invited from scholars currently engaged in independent, post-doctoral, or graduate level research.

Scholars needing to carry out on-site research in the New York Public Library’s special collections are welcome to apply. Preference is given to applications making a strong case for accessing special collections materials.

Each fellow is required to write a blog post of approximately 500 words to appear on about his or her project and work completed at the Library by the end of the award period.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177669

Estimated Size of Grant:

Fellowship stipends are $1,000 per week.

Term of Contract:

Fellowship are for a minimum of two and maximum of four weeks.

Applications are invited for residence between June 1, 2018 - May 30, 2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Only U.S. citizens, permanent residents and foreign nationals who have been resident in the United States for the three years as of January 31, 2018 may apply.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for application is February 15, 2018 and applicants will be notified of results on March 31, 2018.

More information about the research resources of The New York Public Library may be found here:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Carolyn Broomhead

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming